The Lido




      The Lido
We re never too old to make new friends or to make a difference.Rosemary Peterson has lived in Brixton, London, all her life but everything is changing.The library where she used to work has closed The family grocery store has become a trendy bar And now the lido, an outdoor pool where she s swam daily since its opening, is threatened with closure by a local housing developer It was at the lido that Rosemary escaped the devastation of World War II here she fell in love with her husband, George here she found community during her marriage and since George s death.Twenty something Kate Matthews has moved to Brixton and feels desperately alone A once promising writer, she now covers forgettable stories for her local paper That is, until she s assigned to write about the lido s closing Soon Kate s portrait of the pool focuses on a singular woman Rosemary And as Rosemary slowly opens up to Kate, both women are nourished and transformed in ways they never thought possible.In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship. New Download [ The Lido ] By [ Libby Page ] – bluevapours.co.uk

Libby Page previously worked in marketing, moonlighting as a writer She graduated from The London College of Fashion with a BA in Fashion Journalism before going on to work as a journalist at the Guardian THE LIDO is her first novel It was pre empted within 24 hours of submission for six figures in the UK, pre empted for six figures in the US, and will be published in 2018 by Orion UK and Simon Schuster US, followed by eleven other territories around the world Libby has been a leading campaigner for fairer internships and has spoken on TV and in parliament in support of fair pay for interns Libby has been writing from an early age and when she was 16 she wrote an illustrated book called Love Pink to raise money for Breast Cancer Care.After writing, her second passion is outdoor swimming Libby lives in London where she enjoys finding new swimming spots and pockets of community within the city.

Ê 
      The Lido
 ✓ Kindle By ✓ Libby Page cw stones river – bluevapours.co.uk
  • Paperback
  • 368 pages
  • The Lido
  • Libby Page
  • English
  • 06 November 2018
  • 1409175227

10 thoughts on “ The Lido

  1. Amalia Gavea says:

    She folded herself into the shape of Hermione Granger or George from the Famous Five or Catherine Morland from Northanger Abbey and tried to be them for a day When she started secondary school her friends were the characters she met in the pages of her books I confess I am not a lover of the sea or the pool Although a Cancer born in the middle of July, I ve always been a mountain girl and swimming is just another summer activity for me However, one of my earliest memories is of my dad tShe folded herself into the shape of Hermione Granger or George from the Famous Five or Catherine Morland from Northanger Abbey and tried to be them for a day When she started secondary school her friends were the characters she met in the pages of her books I confess I am not a lover of the sea or the pool Although a Cancer born in the middle of July, I ve always been a mountain girl and swimming is just another summer activity for me However, one of my earliest memories is of my dad teaching me how to sw...

  2. Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader says:

    4 delightful stars to The Lido I m on a streak with charming reads these days, and I am feeling uplifted Kate is a cub reporter working for the local paper in Brixton, London As a cub, she is responsible for the smallest assignments She also has severe anxiety that affects her work and daily life Kate s next assignment is writing about the closing of a lido i.e., outdoor pool and recreation center , where she meets Rosemary, a widow in her eighties Rosemary has been a fixture at t 4 delightful stars to The Lido I m on a streak with charming reads these days, and I am feeling uplifted Kate is a cub reporter working for the local paper in Brixton, London As a cub, she is responsible for the smallest assignments She also has severe anxiety that affects her work and daily life Kate s next assignment is writing about the closing of a lido i.e., outdoor pool and recreation center , where she meets Rosemary, a widow in her eight...

  3. *TUDOR^QUEEN* says:

    Thank you to publisher Simon Schuster who provided this advance reader copy via NetGalley.This is a very touching story about an 87 year old woman named Rosemary who lives in the Village of Brixton in England Her apartment s balcony overlooks The Lido, otherwise known as the local community pool More than any...

  4. Cheri says:

    4.5 StarsWhen you re weary, feeling smallWhen tears are in your eyes, I ll dry them all all I m on your side, oh, when times get roughAnd friends just can t be foundLike a bridge over troubled waterI will lay me downLike a bridge over troubled waterI will lay me downBridge Over Troubled Water, Simon Garfunkel, Songwriters Paul SimonAt eighty six years old, Rosemary has lived in the Brixton neighborhood of London her whole life, a bustling neighborhood that brings to mind a scene of 4.5 StarsWhen you re weary, feeling smallWhen tears are in your eyes, I ll dry them all all I m on your side, oh, when times get roughAnd friends just can t be foundLike a bridge over troubled waterI will lay me downLike a bridge over troubled waterI will lay me downBridge Over Troubled Water, Simon Garfunkel, Songwriters Paul SimonAt eighty six years old, Rosemary has lived in the Brixton neighborhood of London her whole life, a bustling neighborhood that brings to mind a scene of Notting Hill with a sm...

  5. Dorie - Traveling Sister :) says:

    This was a 3.5 for me rounded up to a 4.I was looking for a bit of a lighter read and one that would make me feel good This book fit the ticket At times, however, I have to admit that it sounded a bit like something I d read before The premise isn t new, older person meets younger person and they each learn from the other.I thought the characters were very well developed, part...

  6. Bam says:

    Have you ever moved to a new city or state, not knowing anyone, and been nearly swamped by loneliness I have And that s Kate Matthew s situation now that she s moved to South London and gotten a job reporting for a local newspaper It s gotten so bad that she s suffering from overwhelming panic attacks I had always been anxious but it got so much worse once I was in London Most of her assignments have been of the lost pet variety but now her boss wants her to cover the proposed sale of th Have you ever moved to a new city or state, not knowing anyone, and been nearly swamped by loneliness I have And that s Kate Matthew s situation now that she s moved to South London and gotten a job report...

  7. Umut Reviews says:

    I confess it was a cover buy I just couldn t stand seeing it in book shops with that amazing blue colour of the Lido in the shiny summer days It was as if I was going to jump in a refreshing pool if I buy the book, LOL Well, it didn t happen, but I really enjoyed my time It s a debut My expectation was a cute and light summer read It s totally met There s no drama, no traumatized person, no family issues It ...

  8. Karen says:

    3.5 stars for me.This book was a light read that took me forever to get through, it just wasn t all that interesting to me.Rosemary is 86 yrs old and five years ago lost her husband George They have always lived in a flat within sight of the The Lido city pool The Lido had actually been part of their lives since their youth.A corporation comes in and wants to buy the land and close up the pool to build tennis courts for their new housing development plans.This book is about the path to save 3.5 stars for me.This book was a light read that took me forever to get through, it just wasn t all that interesting to me.Rosemary is 86 yrs old and five years ago lost her husband George They have always lived in a flat within sight of the The Lido city pool The Lido had actually been part of their lives since their youth.A corporation comes in and wants to buy the land and close up the pool to build tennis courts for their new housing development plans.This book is about the...

  9. Kelly (and the Book Boar) says:

    Find all of my reviews at StarsI have been swimming here forthan eighty yearsI have zero clue how The Lido ended up on my to read list None of my Goodreads friends have read it and I know it wasn t from the library software because currently that believes I m studying hard on becoming either a methamphetamine manufacturer or a serial killer Maybe it was one of those advertisements that appear in the middle of the feed here that make you think y Find all of my reviews at StarsI have been swimming here forthan eighty yearsI have zero clue how The Lido ended up on my to read list None of my Goodreads friends have read it and I know it wasn t from the library software because currently that believes I m studying hard on becoming either a metha...

  10. Cindy Burnett says:

    4.5 starsThis debut novel is a beautiful book celebrating the importance of community and relationships As I read The Lido, I marveled that it is Libby Page s debut the story is very well written The book tells the tale of Kate, a lonely 26 year old suffering from anxiety, and Rosemary, an 86 year old widow who swims daily at her local lido an outdoor pool and recreation center The lido is targeted by a development company who wants to buy the land to build an expensive apartment complex 4.5 starsThis debut novel is a beautiful book celebrating the importance of community and relationships As I read The Lido, I marveled that it is Libby Page s debut the story is very well written The book tells the tale of Kate, a lonely 26 year old suffering from anxiety, and Rosemary, an 86 year old widow who swims daily at her local lido an outdoor pool and recreation center The lido is targeted by a development company who wants to buy the land to build an expensive apartment complex Kate works at a local paper and is assigned to write a story about the closing of the lido as she begins working on the story, Kate meets Rosemary, and the two form a life changing friendship that benefits and transforms both women Working together, they rally the community to build support to save the lido while simultaneously learning the value of friendship and community...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *